Getting to Know the Dimensions of Performance for Take Responsibility for Learning

Take a minute now to look over the performance continuum for Take Responsibility for Learning. Each of the four levels is on a separate page.

Section 1 — The Components of Performance

The continuum begins with the definition of the standard, one that remains the same for each level of performance. Including the definition as the starting point for each performance level description reminds us that the definition of the standard as an integrated skill process is consistent across the continuum.

Section 2 — Knowledge, Skills and Strategies

The second section is a list of the key knowledge, skills, and cognitive and metacognitive strategies to be mastered for proficient performance at each level. These are the primary behavioral indicators (or benchmarks) of proficient performance at each level.

Bullet 1 focuses on the identification of current and future learning needs and the ability to communicate specific and attainable learning goals based on those needs. This bullet is the same across all levels, but it is applied in increasingly complex ways.
Bullet 2 deals with the ability to draw on one's prior experiences and knowledge to identify one's learning strengths and weaknesses and identify appropriate learning activities. As students move up the levels, they are expected to be more specific in their identification of learning strengths and weaknesses and be able to identify more learning opportunities.
Bullet 3 deals with the selection and use of strategies and sources of information in order to acquire and retain knowledge and apply new learning to address the learning goal. As students move up the levels, they are expected to know and use more strategies, and these strategies become increasingly complex.
Bullet 4 deals with the monitoring of progress toward the achievement of the learning goal through the use of strategies, such as following instructions, self-questioning, creating interim summaries of information and activities, or testing to detect inconsistencies in information and understanding.

Section 3 — Fluency, Independence and Range

This section is a description of the fluency, independence, and ability to perform in a range of settings expected for proficient performance on the standard at each level.

  • Fluency of performance refers to the level of effort or ease required for an adult to retrieve and apply what he or she knows in order to take responsibility for his or her learning.
  • Independence of performance reflects the extent to which the person needs direction or guidance in organizing, solving, and communicating the individual's learning goals, strengths and weaknesses, and achievement of learning goals.
  • Range of performance refers both to how well a person can use learning skills and whether the person can transfer learning from one context to another. This includes both a range of kinds and complexity of learning tasks, and a range of contexts and audiences for tasks.

Section 4 — Examples of Proficient Performance

This section includes examples of the kinds of purposeful applications of the standard that can be accomplished by an adult who is proficient at each level. These examples represent only a few of many learning activities that could be developed in adult education settings.

Next -->